Discuss Testing a new Switched CCU in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,
My first post here.

I am a level 3 student, confident and competent.

I have a job this afternoon that they have requested a minor works certificate for.

I am only replacing an existing FCU for a switched FCU.

I know all test procedures correctly and I have a brand new kewtech kt63dl with a calibration certificate.

My question is though, what tests would you carry out for this?

I'm thinking, along with the Zs at DB and PFC, RCD tests and functional test, should I firstly carry out the correct procedures for ring final testing, and then secondly what tests would I carry out on the FCU?

Thanks in advanced

Dean.

(It is also the first minor works certificate I am competing and hoping it may contribute to the NVQ I am awaiting to enrol in).

look at your blank MWC. see what it asks for. usually, Zs and RCD test/s. might want IR also. i would alsoo test end-end of a RFCbut not necessarily write it into the MWC.

Thanks mate.

Was thinking doing all the above,
But wasn't sure
Wasn't sure what extent you would go to. So would you advise that no matter the minor work you still carry out ALL tests the MWC are asking results for?

Such a headache,
Such a headache on what quals to go for next!!
I want the best qualifications behind me but I also want to be legal in domestic ASAP but don't want any mikey mouse courses already done 3 years at college for level 2 and 3.

nvq next then, but you need to be working in the trade to get a portfolio done.

Hi all,
My first post here.

I am a level 3 student, confident and competent.

I have a job this afternoon that they have requested a minor works certificate for.

I am only replacing an existing FCU for a switched FCU.

I know all test procedures correctly and I have a brand new kewtech kt63dl with a calibration certificate.

My question is though, what tests would you carry out for this?