Aico 3000 Range
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss Testing CBR units in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

CBR units appear difficult to trip time test on some occasions. Not only myself but other colleagues too when testing 300ma/500ma CBR units find even using a variety of manufacturers instruments that multiple trys are required before a succesful trip test. Often no trip occurs at all. Is this impedence related. ie TT systems.

Bulk Workwear - Clothing Suppliers for the Whole Forum Network

davesparks

-
Mentor
Arms
Esteemed
I'm not good with acronyms so you'll have to remind me what a CBR actually is.
I know it's one of the permutations of an RCD, my guess would be its an earth leakage relay operating a circuit breaker via a shunt or release

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I'm not good with acronyms so you'll have to remind me what a CBR actually is.
I know it's one of the permutations of an RCD, my guess would be its an earth leakage relay operating a circuit breaker via a shunt or release
Hi Dave.

It is a moulded case circuit breaker mccb with either remote setting device or add on Vigi Unit.
Frank

a) Do any specific MFTs take offense.
b)( is first trip event a common fail - next one better )
..never fully trusting RCD technology has a reason for existence ...

a) Do any specific MFTs take offense.
b)( is first trip event a common fail - next one better )
..never fully trusting RCD technology has a reason for existence ...
:Any number of manufacturers mft units are used. Seems to be a common thing amongst electricians I have come across. Perhaps 60% or so such units act this way.

davesparks

-
Mentor
Arms
Esteemed
Is it vigi type units which fail or seperate earth leakage relays with core balance transformers?