Discuss Testing/fault finding on night storage heaters in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

polo1

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hi all,
new to the forum - be kind.

I've no real experience in fault finding and or testing night storage heaters, but will soon have to start this kind of work. I don't mind asking questions, but would like to start of with a reasonable foundation of information.

Can anyone offer a tried and tested procedure for testing and fault finding on nsh, typical/not so typical problems etc.

Thanx in advance and hope you are al having a burst pipe free Crimbo!

Welcome along.

The biggest stumbling block, is obviously the lack of power (unless you're there in the small hours or it's an E10 system).

Essentialy there isn't a lot to go wrong with them, thermostat, thermal link, elements, or burnt out isolation switches are the main issues we find. All you'll need is a good low resistance ohmmeter and an insulation resistance tester for checking the elements.

Obviously if there is power available it makes fault finding a lot easier as you just test to see how far the voltage goes and where it stops is usually the problem.

Thanx Lenny. I almost didn't want to mention the lack of power during normal working hours (or the fact that you have to be careful of a daytime boost)! On that point, do you typically rely on dead tests or do you rig up a temp supply? I'm familiar with the components of a nsh, but that's why I wondered if there was a "good practice" order for testing the components you mention.

Check input stat works, then safety cut out using continuity.
Check continuity of elements.
Check continuity of fuse/mcb.
Check continuity of wall switch.
Check insulation resistance of circuit.