Discuss Testing with 3 probe instrument help needed in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

bleach

-
Reaction score
Hi,

I am fairly new to all this so please bare with me. I have been up till now using a 2 probe megger. I have now purchased a 3 probe Kewtech KT62. Can anyone please inform me what test use 3 leads and when I join the 3 to become 2 etc. It does not say in the Kewtech manual! (specifically for PEFC?)

Help all all tests much appreciated,

Hi Bleach

the 3 leads are used on ze ( external earth) zs ( consumers earth ) pfc( prospective fault current) and psc ( prospective short circuit ) the 2 leads are used for ( continuity ) and IR ( insulation resistance ) I use a robin and i believe they work the same . When doing psc some meters you have to join the black and green leads together and conect to neutral of the ccu isolator supply side and red to line of the ccu isolator supply side .my leads are old colours so i assume yours is brown blue and green ??

Richard

Last edited:
Thanks Richard! am I right in understanding that all leads are seperate for those tests and connected to the corresponding conductors with the exception of doing PSC test because I join the green lead on to the blue and then test this on the neutral(supply side) and then the brown probe to line(supply side).

Thanks again!!

For PeFC connect the 3 leads to Line, Neutral and Earth. For PSSC connect the Red to line and the black and green to neutral.

Why don't the manufacturers instructions show this ? Email them am Sure they will Help You . CD ?? Book
Am only working of my Megger 1552.

It’s a Start ? Amber . Good Luck . am Sure that someone will come Along to Help You .