Discuss Training info help required in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

V

Vaquero

Hi all. I have searched all over the place and can't quite get any info to not contradict something else, so, i need advice on training to be a sparks.
I worked as a maintenance engineer (electrical bias) for years with BT. I want to go back to part time (possibly leading to full time), self employed work as a small scale electrician, domestic rather than commercial. It seems I can do domestic work as long as it is replacement but when it comes to new ccts etc, I need to be qualified. I know I would need 17th edition but not sure of which other qualifications I need. It seems like Domestic Installer and Part P (?). What does it cost to register on a competent persons scheme and do I need this to test and approve my own work? have I got that bit right?
Thanks
Sam

Hi Sam, I thought it best I provide you with some links to find some of the info your looking for. Although the info I provide is not comprehensive, it does go a long way in steering you on the right path. Electrical Installations qualifications and training courses | City & Guilds for getting qualified. You will need a JIB or CSCS/ECS card to prove your qualified to your customers. You can follow these up by going here ECS card scheme FAQs. For registration to an approved body, go to this link NICEIC | Contractor | Schemes | Domestic Installer. I hope you find this information helpful and although i'm not qualified myself just yet, these sites have helped me find my way forward and should give you a heads up too.