Discuss training routes in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Evening All (or morning depending when you see this).

Sorry if this has already been discussed or asked, I'm new to this whole forum business and this group, so trying to learn the ropes and quickly. Apologies for the long winded post, I just wanted to explain my circumstances and what the route I am planning to take and whether it is worth the time and money.

I am looking to change careers (25 years in freight forwarding / logistics / warehousing). Is starting to become boring and no longer challenging. After having a brief chat with an electrician today, renewed my interest in what to try and do along side my full time job to start the ball rolling in the training aspect. I will add that I am 42 years old and not shy in try new things or willing to put the effort / time into training (have 4 x level 3 nvqs in shipping industry and 3 x level 2 nvq along with the usual gcse's).

I have looked at various posts on training aspects and what routes to take. I am considering completing the below courses (part time) in the evening / weekends as I am unable to give up my full time job as I am the main earner in the house and need to provide for wife and kids.

Looking at some of the posts already none seem to mention the course's I am considering and now wondering if these are the correct courses / pathway to take. I know I am going to be at least a year or 2 before I can take on any practical experience, (I do have basic knowledge and understanding of residential electrics, but no professional experience).

The courses I am considering are:- (this is at the local college)
EAL Level 2 Diploma in Electrical Installations (1st)
EAL Level 3 Diploma in Electrical Installations (2nd)