Discuss TRIPPING RCD diyer!! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Simo4567

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all, I have a very random problem and wondering if anyone maybe able to shed some light on this issue.
When my next door neighbour uses his leaf blower it trips my main RCD! He uses it plugged into his garage and has a surge protection plug that it's plugged into. When he starts up the blower it immediately trips ours, but not his? Doesnt happen with the mower or pressure washer. And it doesn't happen every time, but more often than not. I had an electrician test our board and check everything was safe and working correctly and he confirmed it was, he was baffled and had no clue what could be wrong.

So what on earth could be happening here? I have no real knowledge of electrics so any technical terms will be lost on me!!
I guess I should change the main RCD? But if this was faulty I suppose it would trip more often?

Any ideas would be great. Thanks

Hi all, I have a very random problem and wondering if anyone maybe able to shed some light on this issue.
When my next door neighbour uses his leaf blower it trips my main RCD! He uses it plugged into his garage and has a surge protection plug that it's plugged into. When he starts up the blower it immediately trips ours, but not his? Doesnt happen with the mower or pressure washer. And it doesn't happen every time, but more often than not. I had an electrician test our board and check everything was safe and working correctly and he confirmed it was, he was baffled and had no clue what could be wrong.

So what on earth could be happening here? I have no real knowledge of electrics so any technical terms will be lost on me!!
I guess I should change the main RCD? But if this was faulty I suppose it would trip more often?

Any ideas would be great. Thanks
This is an interesting problem,
a house i was renting some years ago had a similar issue.