Discuss Trunking Draw-In in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

G

Gohanto

Hi all, I'm an ELV consultant (mostly sound and video systems for hotels, theatres, schools, etc. all commercial projects and mostly new construction) and relocated about a month ago from the US to UAE (which follows UK electrical standards and practices as far as I can tell. I've gotten up to speed on most of the changes in the UK market for design containment systems for ELV here, but the one I'm still working on is overhead trunking.

From what I've gathered, overhead trunking is generally used when conduits larger than 32mm are needed (unlike the US where conduits up to 100mm are used). In a school for example, steel trunking may run above the ceiling of a hallway, and all the individual power circuit conduits for each classroom terminate into that trunking, instead of running each small conduit back to the DB. (In the US, we'd show a single junction box above the ceiling outside each classroom where all the classroom conduits terminate into, then connect those junction boxes with large conduits back to the equipment rack room. Alternatively we use cable tray, but only if the ceiling is ACT / Removable tiles).

Assuming I've understood the basics correctly, I have a couple questions I'm looking for help with
- How do you draw-in cables with such as system, especially when conduits terminates into trunking at various locations above a ceiling? (I think of draw-in as pulling every cable you need at once, point-to-point between junction boxes. Any conduit tap-off seems like a hard 90-degree turn with no bend to prevent cable insulation from scratching off)