uHeat Banner - Forum Discount Available
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss two pin 16av to three-pin uk plug in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

AoifeB

DIY
Reaction score
0
Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

I have a treadmill with a two-pin EU plug and 16Av but my house needs an Ireland 3 pin plug, is it safe to get an adapter and voltage converter, if so where could I source that? I have only ever used appliances with 13Av in my house before so I am unsure if it is safe, advice much appreciated, thanks
 
Instyle LED Lighting Specialists UK
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Pete999

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
16,898
I have a treadmill with a two-pin EU plug and 16Av but my house needs an Ireland 3 pin plug, is it safe to get an adapter and voltage converter, if so where could I source that? I have only ever used appliances with 13Av in my house before so I am unsure if it is safe, advice much appreciated, thanks
What Voltage is the treadmill rated at?
 

Mike Johnson

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
2,524
You say voltage adaptor, if this an EU unit it should be 230v you need to check the specification of the treadmill to see what voltage it runs on, you also need to know which MCB (fuse) in your CU (Consumer Unit) the socket you are going to plug into supplies that socket run, a picture of the spec plate on the treadmill and a picture of your CU would help.
 

pc1966

Esteemed
Arms
Supporter
Reaction score
4,689
It probably just needs a high quality "travel adaptor", but as above, check the rating in the manual or name plate on the machine to verify it is for 230V and not more than 13A.
 

AoifeB

DIY
Reaction score
0
You say voltage adaptor, if this an EU unit it should be 230v you need to check the specification of the treadmill to see what voltage it runs on, you also need to know which MCB (fuse) in your CU (Consumer Unit) the socket you are going to plug into supplies that socket run, a picture of the spec plate on the treadmill and a picture of your CU would help.
Thanks! Here is a picture of the fuse box and treadmill plug, the plug says 16A 250v
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.46.03.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.46.03.jpeg
    252.2 KB · Views: 23
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.40.41.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.40.41.jpeg
    58.2 KB · Views: 23

Mike Johnson

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
2,524
Can't tell which MCB supplies your socket circuit from that picture, why is one of the MCB's taped over?

The plug from your treadmill is three way as the hole at the top is an earth connection, need to see the specification of the treadmill and know which one of the MCB's supplies your sockets?

To be honest that CU looks long past its sell by date, I would hesitate to plug anything into it.
 

pc1966

Esteemed
Arms
Supporter
Reaction score
4,689
Thanks! Here is a picture of the fuse box and treadmill plug, the plug says 16A 250v
That is a rough looking board!

The plugs always say 16A, that is thier rating, but the equipment can (and often is) much less. Have you got a manual for it?
 

AoifeB

DIY
Reaction score
0
That is a rough looking board!

The plugs always say 16A, that is thier rating, but the equipment can (and often is) much less. Have you got a manual for it?
yes, the board has been around a long time :) I have a manual here which says 220-240v and on another page, it says to ensure it is in a grounded socket but I do not know what that would mean, thanks
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.56.47.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.56.47.jpeg
    217.3 KB · Views: 18
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.56.39.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-04-09 at 14.56.39.jpeg
    162 KB · Views: 18

Mike Johnson

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
2,524
It means that the hole at the top of ,your words, two pin plug needs to be connected to the earth circuit in your socket outlet.
 

Reply to two pin 16av to three-pin uk plug in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Top