Discuss Two-way lighting x4 switches in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

scottlock

Hi, I'd like to pick some brains, I'm quite new to domestic installs and basically doing my first full re-wire;-)
I have an upstairs light and downstairs light, the customer wants a single switch at the end of the hall upstairs to control up light, a two-gang at the top of the stairs to control up/dn, two-gang at the bottom of the stairs to control up/dn and a single by the front door to control dn light, and when complete will I still be able to put up and down on separate RCD's. I'll be using 3-core and earth LSF running through 20mm plastic conduit. Any diagrams or walkthrough would be much appreciated, cheers.

I do not mean to offend but if you need diagrams for simple switching are you really ready to be doing this work on your own? And to answer your question yes you can have the up and down lights on different mcb's on different RCD's even tho it will mean 2 supplies at the one switch.

Welcome scott, you are using some random stuff there for a domestic install, all is possible with use of intermediate switching but before anyone answers is this possibly your college work as with the materials you list and the rcd question it smells of college and we would not like you cheating as all the answers can easily be worked out if researched.