Discuss Urgent help please, I'm stuck away from my regs books with only a phone and poor net in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

Electricianhow

Hi guys, I'm new to this so go easy with me lol

iam stuck in Brazil away from my regs books and contact of other knowledgable guys I use but am in urgent need of a question being answered please!

i recently converted two flats, one on top of the other, into a two story house.

>we only kept the bottom floor supply so I ran tails up to the db covering the top floor, and terminated them in a Henley block.   The installation goes like this......main supply feeds Henley block.....Henley block has 2 sets of tails....first to the ground floor dab, second to the first floor db.

>In my absence I have been travelling for 6 weeks, the customer has had another electrician in who stated this

"However, while he was there he noticed that the length of cable  between the mains under the stairs on the ground floor, and the fuse board on the first floor, was such that it should have had an intermediate sub main fitted to cover the risk of a power surge."

>is is this true? I can't see how having a sub main, with say 80a main switch adds any more protection that the main switch already in the upstairs board? I have never had this come up on any of my yearly inspections either, and everyone here knows how on point the inspectors are!!!

>Can someone tell me is this true and do I need to return to install this, I can see a benefit for isolation of dab only, not for surge protection?

many thanks

Howard

Re: Urgent help please, I'm stuck away from my regs books with only a phone and poor

you should protect the tails to upstairs with a switch fuse In < In of the supply fuse. e.g for a 100A supply fuse, you fit a 80A sw.fuse.this prevents a fault on those tails taking out the dNO fuse.

Re: Urgent help please, I'm stuck away from my regs books with only a phone and poor