Discuss Usa Device Repair From Using Uk Voltage in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Triiickie

Hi

I am not an electrician and would like to ask the community a question regarding a recently purchased from from the United States.

I purchased a uSqueez leg massager from the USA:

OSIM uSqueez App-Controlled Foot & Calf Massager?Buy Now!

When returning to the UK, it was plugged via a standard adaptor you can buy (why it would let you do this I really don't know) and when doing so, it work for 3 seconds then a popping sound occurred. I then realised that I needed a step down converter form the USA 110v to the UK 230v. the product was expensive at $299 and it cannot be returned to the USA as it is not covered under warantee.

Does this mean the product is totally useless now or is there a way I can fix this? Not sure if there may be an internal fuse box I could replace, or request a part from the manufacturer and get an electrician to replace? I really hope a fix is available and any recommneded electicians would be most grateful.

Any help would be greatly received.

I'm surprised it lasted for a few seconds!! lol!!

Now come on now, what did you really expect to happen, plugging in a 120V 60 Hz appliance into a 240V 50 Hz supply?? Don't blame the adaptor, this is totally down to you!! As stated your appliance power supply has been fried, so you'll need an electronic workshop to have any chance of repair!!

Hi

I don't blame the adaptor at all. I take fully responsibility for not thinking straight. I was jet lagged and I didn't sleep before opening the box. If I had to go out and purchase an adaptor I would have realised I needed a step down converter, it was just that the adaptor I did have, let me configure it so that an american plug would fit to UK socket. It should not have allowed me to do this.

So if it is just the power supply that has fried, maybe there is hope of repairing it afterall?