Discuss Using Structural Frame as PE in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi there,

First time poster, thanks for your advice!

At the factory where I have just joined, we have some electricians that are mainly experienced in residential installs and not a lot of industrial.
I am an electrical engineer with electrical design experience (generally fixed installations/power electronics), but as always work in tandem with sparkies to get the best, compliant solution with respect to AS3000.

I arrived with an enclosure half built and electrical design completed by non-electrical people based on previous sub-contracted designs.
The transportable enclosure (AS3001 comes in to play) built has an external earth stud (welded to frame).
There are multiple inlets, and an onboard generator as backup (RCD protected etc).
Supply (and earthing) will normally be via inlets.
Equipment, a distribution board earth, and eventually a UPS system earth bar (out or our scope) have been bonded to the frame for the purposes of protective earth via earth cable/ring lug/threaded bolts, and not directly to a main earth bar.
All continuity tests pass as part of verification. Electrician does not seem worried.

Does this comply with section 5.3.2 of AS3000?
What is the consensus on this method?

Oof, that's a bit of a gnarly one.

Exerpt from AS3000 5.3.2

5.3.2.1.3 Other materials
Materials other than copper or aluminium may be used as an earthing
conductor. In such cases, the conductor resistance shall be not greater
than that for a copper earthing conductor determined in accordance with
Clause 5.3.3, and the degree of corrosion resistance shall not be inferior to
other materials suitable for the purpose.

5.3.2.2 Conductor type