Discuss Variable voltage 220v Appliance (Type I) to 110v (Type B) socket, in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Mr. Deeds

DIY
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am not an electrician or anything of the sort, but figured that this would be the best place to ask my question.

I have a 220v heating appliance with a Chinese Type I plug. The appliance has a volatge regulator knob that allows voltage to be varied anywhere between 0v and 220v.
It came with an adapter for a US outlet but the adapter isnt grounded and I am having a hard time trying to find an adapter and or step up/down converter
1.Are there any cost-effective options that I have not found?

2.Using the adapter (it doesnt convert voltage), a 220v appliance in a 110v socket shouldn't trip a circuit breaker correct? At most I run the risk of damaging the appliance (it wasnt expensive in the first place).

3. If running the appliance at 110v, will this provide 110v or does the rule still apply that only 1/4th of the power will be provided?

Many thanks in advance!

Please could you give more specific details of the appliance and/or pics of the relevant parts. You describe it as a heating appliance but also that it has a voltage regulator, implying that it produces an electrical output between 0V and 220V, which is not normal for a heating appliance. Some appliances have a voltage selector, enabling the appliance to operate on a choice of voltages, e.g. 110, 120, 220, 230, 240, but this does not seem to be what you are describing.