Discuss Vehicle charging install in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Electreacle

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Hi all…
I am an apprentice in my 2nd year… A friend of a friend has a vehicle charging kit, SWA etc etc.. all kit provided…
I feel confident in installing this but wondering would I have to provide a certificate etc?
They want it done as mates rates.

EV chargers are “notifiable jobs’ as they need their own circuit, are you a member of a CPS scheme? Do you have an MFT that can test EV chargers? I personally don’t do ’mates rates’, causes too many issues further down the line, if I don’t do the job, they’ll have to pay full price anyway.

How do you learn if you never have a go at these installations ?

sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and do the job . The only thing is you will need a certificate to complete the job. Can your employer assist you with this after you do the job

Remember that you have to notify the DNO either before or after, depending on the size of the charger and the cutout fuse with the increased maximum demand.

I have attached one example of the form used for notification.

Attachments

• 3849.pdf
    33.5 KB · Views: 29
EV chargers are “notifiable jobs’ as they need their own circuit, are you a member of a CPS scheme? Do you have an MFT that can test EV chargers? I personally don’t do ’mates rates’, causes too many issues further down the line, if I don’t do the job, they’ll have to pay full price anyway.
I’m not a member of an CPS Scheme. I do own a MFT. Would the testing just include all dead tests, ZS, RCD and pfc? Or is there an additional test required?
Thanks for your advice ?

I’m not a member of an CPS Scheme. I do own a MFT. Would the testing just include all dead tests, ZS, RCD and pfc? Or is there an additional test required?
Thanks for your advice ?
The better chargers now stipulate a functional test of the charger using an evse adaptor. Essentially the functional test requirement.on the cert.