Discuss Washing machine intermittently trips RCD. Manufacturer declares machine fault-free and suggests faulty home electrics. What should I do? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi

I don’t know how resolve this so any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. I have no electrical knowledge. I will try to be as clear and detailed as I can.

I’ve got a Bosch washing machine that’s two-and-a-half years old. Until early June, the machine has been flawless. But in June, my machine began intermittently tripping the electrics. At first it was one trip during the two hour cycle every couple of weeks, but this gradually grew to one trip almost every time I used it.

Naturally I presumed it was a fault with the machine because I don’t get any electrical trips when the machine is not in use. So I called Bosch and arranged an engineer visit. The engineer came and began by checking the mains power socket by plugging in a device with a bunch of LEDs on it. It didn’t show any faults. He then did some tests to rule out faults with the machine's major components (namely the motor and heating element).

He then unplugged the machine, pulled it out, took the back panel off and looked inside. After doing this, he said he couldn’t find any faults with the machine and suggested that the dedicated mains socket (for the machine) was faulty. Now this Bosch engineer had previously visited me two years ago when I had the same problem with my previous Bosch washer. Back then he also declared the machine fault free and said it was my mains socket at fault. He explained that the wires are likely worn out and this is causing the trip.