Discuss Web developer introduction in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Ben Upton

Hi everybody,

I've just joined the forum, and posted in the new member introductions but thought I should also post here where it's more relevant.

I'm a full-time web developer looking to eventually branch out on my own. I have relatives in the industry and an interest myself, so helping electricians with their websites/online marketing is hopefully a good fit for me.

I'm not offering any services at this point, but I'd love to offer any free advice I can if anyone has any website based questions. Hoping to learn what I can from the community here too.

Thanks and look forward to helping where I can!

Ben

Hi Ben,

Welcome to the forums!

I don't have a website myself, but I have been thinking about it (aka getting confused about it). As someone who has no knowledge about the process, one thing that confuses me is when you purchase a domain name - it doesn't give you the webpage/ hosting.

Another thing that confuses me is when you pay for these things.. where does the money go? Like who actually owns the internet?? Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself lol

Hey Shane,

Thanks for the welcome!

Yes, a website is actually a few components that bolt together:
  1. The domain name that you’ve purchased is just that really, a name that connects visitors to the website.
  2. The hosting is where the website lives - i.e. another big computer(s) living out there in the world somewhere that your customers can access by using the domain name.
  3. Then there’s the website itself, i.e. the set of code files that creates your information pages, contact forms, portfolio, etc.
Some services do roll all this up into one - like wix, or godaddy - but they have their own foibles and frustrations. Good web designers will sort all this out for you too if you’re not keen.

In terms of the money, it is three different pots: