Discuss Website upon set up in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

cj.

Hi all,

Im asking for peoples advice on their websites:

how do searches compare between having "electrical" within the company name or "electrician"?

Im currently deciding on the domain name and i get some people saying that its better to have for example AJelectrical services or something like that compared to AJelectrician services etc

Any help would be great ty!!

Im no expert on websites but I have noticed that in my area websites with the name of the town in them appear much nearer the top. For example:'Electrianstokeontrent' or 'stokeontrentelectrician' do much better than my own website. I presume that this is because the name more closely matches what is typed in the search box.

On that basis your better going with 'electrician' rather than 'electrical'. My own site appears high if you type in 'electrical services' but no one does that when looking for work.

Hope this helps

Oh by the way, remember your domain name does not have to be the same as your company name, that was the mistake I made.

CJ,

It doesn't really matter what you name your web site, getting on google listing and ranked high on the first page is all to do with SEO, these are key words you insert into your meta tag area in the back end of your site.

For example lets say your company and web site is called CJ electrical and lets say your from dover. Your key words could range from anything from CJ electrical to eletrical work dover, to electrician kent, house rewire dover. etc etc. Once ranked by google and people search for those keywords, your site no matter what its name will eventually turn up on page one on google for each keyword.