Discuss What are the basic set of courses/memberships I need for... in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

lunatiqfrinj

Hi all

I'm currently in a situation where over the next few years I will be selfbuilding around 5 houses for various family members. As such, it may make financial sense for me to acquire the relevant knowledge to install and initial test the electrics myself in a safe, compliant and competent manner. I'd like to do so under a self certification scheme because my building inspector of choice isn't interested in arranging to have my work tested by a third party; he just wants an EIC from the installing electrician. I've no plans to work on existing installations, or sell my skills to other people; this is purely an interest in wiring up selfbuilds that I'm building myself.

I'm confident I have the tool and diagnostic skills necessary already; I'm a software engineer by trade and build houses as a hobby. I'm meticulous when following a specification and have a great attention to detail so I dare say that the practical aspect is within the grasp of the skills I currently have, it's just the necessary knowledge for justifying the circuit design and installation that I feel I need. I don't wish for this thread to be an insult to time served electricians who do expert, neat and professional work and have poured many years into their craft - it's purely me setting myself the challenge to become qualified enough to start with a field and finish with a house, doing the whole thing legally, safely and solo. I'd like to know the minimum set of qualifications and competencies necessary to sign off my own work

Is it something that genuinely requires years of training and a long history of past jobs that an NIC assessor can look at, or would an install that was faultlessly compliant with BS7671 be enough for membership and allow me to purchase the necessary PI insurance to sign off?