Discuss What are the worst conditions you have worked in? in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

1shortcircuit

As an electrician I'm sure many of you have some horror stories to tell of absolutely diabolical conditions or places you have had to work in.

What is your worst and when do you know where to draw the line? Have you ever refused to do a job because of the conditions?

I am a telescopic forklift operator at present and recently walked off of a site due to them (site manager and his trusty sidekick:rolleyes:) instructing me to operate a machine which I had inspected and found two hydraulic leaks.

I advised of the concerns and refused to bring it into service until a fitter had been out and inspected and put right the faults:( Unfortunately the site being busy and workers being supplied with materials appeared to be of more importance:mad

009.jpg

005-1.jpg

015.jpg

For those of you that may be unfamiliar with what a Telescopic Forklift is

Photo-0033.jpg
:cool:

Last edited by a moderator:
Farm buildings are probably the worst I've been in, ones that the farmer has had built in the spring but doesn't get them wired up till the autumn. The livestock have been in them for months so theres the proverbial everywhere.

Gets all over you, your tools your van. Smell gets in your clothes, your hair. generally not nice.

Farm buildings are probably the worst I've been in, ones that the farmer has had built in the spring but doesn't get them wired up till the autumn. The livestock have been in them for months so theres the proverbial everywhere.

Gets all over you, your tools your van. Smell gets in your clothes, your hair. generally not nice.

I know exactly what you mean there:p

I worked on the construction of the gas pipeline a couple of years ago that went from Exeter to Plymouth.