Discuss What can and can't I do as an unregistered electrician trying to become registered? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I've been working as a domestic electrician for 6+ years now alongside two NICEIC approved contractors and I hold my 1/2/3 City & Guilds NVQ, 18th edition and 2 million public liability.

I started doing the odd side jobs a while back but my work seems to have snowballed to the point where I am booking in full re-wires, extension jobs, kitchens & bathrooms, consumer units.. you name it.. So I thought maybe it time I should get registered under a competent persons scheme.

The issue is that a lot of these schemes ask for years and years of certificates, company logs, health & safety reports etc.. but if I'm a sole trader trying to grow my business I'm not going to have access to these sorts of records yet?

I have always worked to the standard that the NICEIC electricians taught me and carried out testing & inspecting, issuing EIC & Schedule of test results on all the jobs I've completed using my generic Kewtech test sheets that came with my test kit.

But it's got me thinking how am I supposed to meet the registry criteria if I'm 'legally' not supposed to be carrying out the work anyway, or is being a qualified competent person working to 18th edition and issuing all the correct paperwork to support my physical work enough?

Last edited:
I've been working as a domestic electrician for 6+ years now alongside two NICEIC approved contractors and I hold my 1/2/3 City & Guilds NVQ & 18th edition.