Discuss What Courses Should I Take? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Safeman

Hi there,

Sorry if this has already been asked and answered but i need some help.

I have no electrical experience or qualifications yet i have this desire to learn about and to be able to install Solar PV (possibly even solar thermal at a later date). Now i have looked around and there are several websites offering what they say is all you need in order to make a start in this profession. The general consensus is that i would need to learn about electrics first and learn and pass the 17th edition, Building regs & inspection/testing etc before i went on to do PV.

Now, in order to see if these qualifications that are offered on the course are what employers are really after, i emailed 5 or 6 different solar firms asking them what is sought after when taking on new people. The trouble is, not one has bothered to get back to me. It is for this reason i am here now looking for advice.

Can any one tell me if these intensive courses are any good or if they are worth doing and what i should do in order to achieve my goal? I recall speaking to an electrician a while ago who reckoned these courses were a waste of time and money and that it was experience which was the only thing that was worth anything.

Is solar PV the thing to learn or is there another renewable worth getting into?

Any other advice/guidance would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Safeman.

You need an apprenticeship first with day release from a local college. Learn on the job took me 5 years. The intensive courses will be to much to take it in one go. Start small work your way to the top

The problem is mate that i'm not exactly of college age any more and a long term course is just not viable due to work commitments/time/money etc.