Discuss What exactly am I classed as and what do I do now? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rastaboi

Hi all, firstly thanks for looking at my post. I'm 31 and started off about 4-5 years ago as an electricians mate for a friend just doing the grunt work. I loved it and decided to advance in this career path. My friend recommended having a chat with the college he trained at and after meeting the head of the department and discussing the stuff I'd already done (chasing in, first fixing, glands, etc.) he said I could go straight in and do my level 3 2330 without doing level 1 and 2. I did this in sep 2011, passed everything with distinctions and also obtained my 17th edition by june/july 2012. I've been working as a subby for a local company since oct 2011 mainly in central london and have done may different aspects including intruder, fire, small power, 3-phase work etc. I'm looking to expand my prospects and join a larger firm maybe but I'm not exactly sure what I'm classed as!

I think in order to get a JIB card I need to do my NVQ level 3. But what am I classed as now, an improver? An Electrician? What about an AM2, do I need to do this? I've updated my CV as I want to apply for more jobs but would like to know exactly where I stand and how to progress further and make myself more employable.

By the way, I'm located in Shrewsbury, willing to work away, hard working, very reliable and flexible, dependable, not an idiot and have good references available. Please contact me if you are interested, CV ready to go :) Won't let me put any contact details up so private message?

Thanks again

Thanks again

sorry to say but under jib you are classed as a labourer, all you have a 2330 lvl 3, but you should have done lvl2 before 3 because these course have change and you may have to start again

with half of 2330 + 17th i'd say you'd get graded as adult trainee.