Discuss What is the best way to go on Home Security? in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I have been reading all I can as we approach our build. I know what I want...programmable, accessible anywhere on smartphone, cameras as well as motion, fire, smoke...all that. But my worries are a few. One, I'm on Centurylink for internet and the system regularly goes down and to reset the modem you have to unplug it and replug...impossible if on vacation in Italy...How do we approach that issue? Second is the security of home security. How hacker-proof are the new wifi designs and how do we make sure it's not accessible to someone with a smartphone?

Sorry Natasha, I’m not an expert in this fiel,

However I have attended a seminar/ sales pitch on security systems and we where all reassured by the salesman that the newer system where hack proof.

during the break we where talking to the engineers And they where having a good chuckle about a incident where they have successfully hacked the display system And list3ned into the bosses office.

moral of the story. No system is hack proof. The designers can always get in even if they don’t admit it.

that’s not to say there are no good systems out there.

Sorry Natasha, I’m not an expert in this fiel,

However I have attended a seminar/ sales pitch on security systems and we where all reassured by the salesman that the newer system where hack proof.

during the break we where talking to the engineers And they where having a good chuckle about a incident where they have successfully hacked the display system And list3ned into the bosses office.

moral of the story. No system is hack proof. The designers can always get in even if they don’t admit it.

that’s not to say there are no good systems out there.