Discuss What kind of Electric Shower install is possible with my existing consumer unit? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

fearny26

DIY
Reaction score
Hi I am moving into a ground floor flat and would like to have a new electric shower installed above an existing bath tub, unfortunately due to low pressure from the hot water tank a plumber has advised a mixer shower is not an option and neither is a pump. I am rather new to all this sort of thing so apologies if anything I explain does not make sense.

The install itself seems pretty straightforward. Shower on the wall above the tub, isolator pull cord from the ceiling and then approx 10-15m cabling and trunking to the consumer unit which is in an enclosure on the wall of my bedroom.

Here's where I am unsure of the best way to proceed. The flat is setup for economy 7 tariff and as such the meter tails are split in a henley block and feed two Wylex fuse boxes, one rated to 100a and one to 60a. Both fuse boxes are also connected to an RCD rated 80a and 30ma tripping current. Both fuseboxes have a spare way each. The service fuse states 100a. The flat is all electric and has a cooker, an immersion heater, one storage heater.