Discuss What level apprenticeship do I start at? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I am in my final year of school (UK) and I am expected to pass all my gcses, could anyone tell me which apprenticeship level I can start on if I want to do the installation electrician and maintenance electrician level 3 apprenticeship. I have little knowledge in electrics however I know the extreme basics. Anything back will be appreciated. Thanks, J.

Hi, I am in my final year of school (UK) and I am expected to pass all my gcses, could anyone tell me which apprenticeship level I can start on if I want to do the installation electrician and maintenance electrician level 3 apprenticeship. I have little knowledge in electrics however I know the extreme basics. Anything back will be appreciated. Thanks, J.
contact your local college/s. what you want is c&g 2356 level 2 followed by level 3 for core qualification. then it's onwards and upwards.

I think the level 2 might be included in a level 3 and that is why it is up to 4 years long, however if I’m wrong please correct me
afaik, you do level 2 then level 3. 1-2 years each dependent on the course. can be 1 day a week, 2 evenings,or more intense could be shorter overall.

I think the level 2 might be included in a level 3 and that is why it is up to 4 years long, however if I’m wrong please correct me
afaik, you do level 2 then level 3. 1-2 years each dependent on the course. can be 1 day a week, 2 evenings,or more intense could be shorter overall.
Will you need to
oh ok just when I search the level 2 one online the (c&g one you mentioned) it comes up with nvq level 3, so from what I’ve seen I’m guessing the level 2 is integrated into the level three NVQ now, this would make sense because the level 3 says it’s four years (between 42 and 48 months) and you said each course takes 1-2 years. If I’m correct