Discuss What Qualificiations I need to become Domestic Installer (Please Help) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sparkz786

Hi everyone,

4 Years ago in 2010 i studied Electrical Installation Level 2 2330 but dropped out 3 months early, still got 3 certificates not sure if that counts, but now I really want to get back into it and regret dropping out. Its also gone a bit more difficult and changed to 2365

Could someone kindly advise me on which Qualifications I require in order to be a Self Employed Domestic Electrician?

If i complete Level 2 and Level 3 Diploma's in College over 2 years, is that enough to start working? Or do i NEED to do the NVQ? Also how many years is the NVQ? I really want to qualify and start working as soon as possible. Please advise and im really stuck and in a dilemna :(

Thank you in advance

PS. Sorry if there is already a post regarding this, ive seen too many and they all say different things, so just wanted to get advice asap.

Well, you can sign up with one of the competent person schemes for about £450
You will also need the regs and on site guide, calibrated meter and a few other bits.

Do a job, get assessed and thats it - registered for domestic.

Iam currently in level 3 2365. You can work as a spark on ya own if you have relevant experience and confidence in yourself after college. You would also need part p to sign jobs off and really 17th edition and the am2 test all of which are extra cost. The nvq is not essential, it's more if a company requires you to have it or to go jib registered. Hope this helps.