Discuss Whats the worst shock ( Electrical ) you have received and how ? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

I once broke my ribs and got a belt from my wife in the said ribs......does that count

During the war ...................... no start again.

Back in the winter of discontent ( Sorry Mr Shakespeare/Bacon) and the 3 day week, we had the task of installing a standy Gen set. Well we had done all the donkey work and we were doing last connections back from the ATS to the main Bus.

It was decided to save time on isolating everything and then go round resetting and checking everything, it would be done live ........after all we are talking pub time here.

I was a 2 yr apprentice by then and the guy that was going to do the "live" connection went off to get some lugs and crimpers and I was tasked to keeping out of the road. Well I decided to speed things along a little and prepare the way. There were 2 holes predrilled in the Red White phase bus and I decided I would fit the 5/8 bolts and nuts into the holes for him, so he could then just slide the lugs on an tighten with the nut,U washer and spring

All was going swimmingly, mat down and mat across the red phase and done the red. Started on the White phase and as i put my hand through between the bars the spanner I was holding, yes typical apprentice, bridge the phases.

Next thing I knew was darkness, and someone shaking me, as I laid against the wall a good 6-8 foot from the bus ..... my left arm was numb, my head was cut open and my heart was doing all sorts, I looked into a torch of the sparks and after a vitriol of abuse................it ended with and that's a new spanner you owe me.