Discuss Which Order to Do the Relevant Courses in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Evening guys

Plan on doing my 17th (possibly 18th) edition, building regs and inspection and testing courses.

I have basic electrical knowledge as i currently work in appliance repair, and have experience with cooker installs and perform checks on customers electrical systems. (Checking earthing systems, earth loop tests, IR checks on appliances, RCD checks ect ect) and wish to go on to do my quals and then hopefully be taken on as an electricians mate.

My question is what order do you think i should do these courses? Or are there any other courses you would advise looking at?

Cheers all the best

Jacko

A level 3 technical certificate, i.e. 2365 level 2 and 3. For underpinning knowledge.

NVQ level 3.
AM2.

Once you have these you will be able to apply for the JIB gold card and be graded an installation electrician.

I think Doctors can be qualified quicker then electricians:)

The most reconised route is one yr doing your level 2 then two yrs doing your level 3 then another 2 or 3 yrs gaining your NVQ as a mate. So 5 to 6 yrs.

You can sort of see why many don't praise up these training centres that say you can be a qualified spark in 5 weeks.

I know somebody who went to one of them 5 week training centres and instead of a bunch of short courses did the 2365 l2 and l3, it took him about several months something like a week or so in the training centre then a couple weeks off working on site as a apprentice. it cost him several grand but his work paid half. he got his L2 and L3 at the end of it and is now doing his NVQ portfolio. all in to get his gold card will take him around 2 years but hes the exception rather than the rule as he was a engineer of some sort in the navy so was within his comfort zone with the electrical side of things.