Discuss Which replacement LED units should I buy? in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

LEDNewbie

DIY
Reaction score
Hi. I have a problem I’d like some advice on, please. If you just want to know the question please go directly to section B of the following. If you want to know the background/context, please read section A first.

SECTION A – BACKGROUND STORY/CONTEXT:

As will soon become obvious, I’m new to the idea of LED lighting for the home. However, my current home, which I moved in to about a year ago, has LED lights in several rooms. Anyway, yesterday, one of the 3 LED lights in my downstairs toilet blew (it was on – and then there was a “pop” and it went out. I tried to unscrew the cover but, try as I might, I couldn’t get it to come off. No matter, I thought, I’ll just slide the whole “pot” out of the ceiling and, hopefully, it will become obvious how to remove the bulb. I do so and still couldn’t work out how to remove the bulb. I noticed that there were a couple of small screws on the pot so I undid those (which resulted in the “cover” and bulb becoming separated but the bulb is like no other I have ever seen).

I little Googling around and I started to realise that (it seems) this type of unit has to be replaced “all in one” (i.e. the bulb, pot, and driver)! That has to be the most wasteful thing I have ever heard of in my life! Especially since I’ll have to replace all 3 units that are in the toilet (in order for them to match). More landfill!

Anyway, I started looking for alternatives but I just feel swamped. I find the sheer quantity of types and specifications completely baffling!