Discuss Why choose to be an electrician in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

AP Electrical

A little about myself, plasterer by trade been general building for around 10 years competent in most aspects of building inc project management, now working full time as an operations manager for a company not associated with the construction industry - taken time away from full time construction as had a few bad payers and the allure of full time salaried work was just to enticing and also it gave me a chance to focus on my career change.....

Yep you guessed it i want to be an ELECTRICIAN!!

2330 l2 /l3 Done , Finishing my 17th in two weeks, Nvq lv3 is well under way and 2391 booked for oct 11', so I'm almost there....

Which is the point of my post, almost every day I read post's from people eager to become electricians either 5dw or college and Nvq, all prepared to spend thousands to become qualified electricians.

I read threads from bona fide sparks all saying the industry is struggling and the money is not there, but we still plough thousands into training courses and offer free labour just to get a foot in.

I still take on guvvy work to make ends meet and can when I can be bothered make a good return, If i'm honest with myself I could'nt make what I make now if I went full time sparking - please dont take that as an insult its just I earn a good salary company car and the guvvy jobs I do can rack up, So why am I retraining!!!!!!!!!......

I can only sumize that when I've been on site or hiring sparkys, I've been a touch envious of there knowledge, a good electrician who knows his stuff is still respected imo, because you lads are at it all the time you dont see that on site electricians are still top of the tree ( ok for a pay perspective maybe not) but from a knowledge perspective, people just see wires and are baffled at what can electricians do.