Discuss Wiring a 10.5 KW shower run in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

notoriousgib83

Hi,

I'm currently a student doing my C&G 2330 Level 3. I've been asked to wire in a shower for a friend who's just bought a house. Now before you say it I know it's notifiable and I will be arranging a Part P registered spark to come commision it.

My question is the shower is 10.5KW and I'm going to wire it in 10mm on a 50A MCB, with regards to the cable run I'm not sure whether it's okay to feed from the floor and up to the shower unit or whether it must come down the wall from above (the loft). The cable is going to be capped, plastered and the wall tiled. I'm just querying this as it has to go past zone 0 up to the shower if I run it from the floor up the the unit.

You opinions would be appreciated.

The bathroom zones are for appliances and not a cable run behind a wall with tiles. Are you confusing it with safe zones? Run it from below, the shortest route and as Lenny says where are you going to put the pull cord?

Hi I was going to place it on the ceiling just behind the bathroom door, which is just to the left of the shower cubicle door. With this in mind it probably is best to run the cable from above isn't it. Is this an acceptable location?

Yes mate, you need local isolation for all appliances. Sounds like you've answered your own question with regards to you run. Just have a look where you will be drilling the holes for the shower unit, you don't want to make that mistake. I've never done that of course ;).

Hi I was going to place it on the ceiling just behind the bathroom door, which is just to the left of the shower cubicle door. With this in mind it probably is best to run the cable from above isn't it. Is this an acceptable location?