Discuss Wiring in a Hydrovane 2.2kw compressor in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

stuwindsurf

I am about to wire in a Hydrovane 2.2kw compressor. I have to run a cable form the main house to the workshop underground. The compressor runs at 16 amps but spikes above that on start up.

I intend using 6mm cable, but would like to know what I protection I should be using at the fuse box in the house and what I should install in the workshop eg. RCD?

Thanks for any help with this!

Stu

From the house to the workshop, the run is about 15 metres. I have had an electrician quote for wiring it in, but it is too expensive for me right now (£450). I have some experience myself with wiring so would like to wire it in myself.

From the house to the workshop, the run is about 15 metres. I have had an electrician quote for wiring it in, but it is too expensive for me right now (£450). I have some experience myself with wiring so would like to wire it in myself.

from the DB to the compressor? what's that distance

you'll prob need someone qualified anyhow

That would be about 10 metres

Stu, you say the run from the house to the workshop is 15m and that from DB to the compressor is 10m.

Am I right in thinking you mean from house DB to workshop DB is 15m and from workshop DB to compressor is another 10m?

Also, what is the earthing arrangement going to be?

Stu, you say the run from the house to the workshop is 15m and that from DB to the compressor is 10m.

Am I right in thinking you mean from house DB to workshop DB is 15m and from workshop DB to compressor is another 10m?

Also, what is the earthing arrangement going to be?