Discuss Wiring up 4.0A, 460W UV lamp for plastic polymer research in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

OceanSci

DIY
Reaction score
Hi everyone, first time on the forum!

I am a graduate student in chemical oceanography examining the degradation products of different plastic polymers in seawater during photo-oxidative degradation. As part of my experimental design I am using a 4.0A, 460W UV lamp to accelerate degradation of my samples.

Neither myself (chemistry background) nor my advisor (an oceanographer) have experience with UV lamps, their correct setup and wiring. I wasn't sure who to reach out to, but I thought with your knowledgeset you could potentially point me in the right direction. My only relevant experience is a calc. based E&M lecture and lab I took a few years back as an undergraduate.

Attached are the lamp specs as well as the wiring diagram from the manufacturer (Osram / Sylvania).

So far I have the lamp, a set of Osram S26 and S26A R7S lamp bases, a laboratory space with a 220V power source, and head to toe UV-specific PPE and shielding in the lab. This lab will not be used by anyone else for the duration of the experiments. Just trying to sort out the correct setup of the system. I’ve tried reaching out to the manufacturer multiple times but no response. My local power company told me to kick rocks and contact a licensed electrician.

1) The diagram shows an ignitor, but I believe I have found online that some are combination ballasts & ignitors. Is this true? Also, if the manufacturer states it requires a 4.0 kV ignitor, do I need to get one at 5+ kV to ensure I am passing the 4 kV threshold?