• Welcome to the new forum. We're now hosted on ElectriciansForums.net rather than ElectriciansForums.co.uk - Chat about the forum upgrade by CLICKING HERE

Welcome to our Electrical Forum - We started out providing electrical advice just for the UK - But now we have specific advice for the USA too! - Register for free and share American Electrical Advice.

Discuss Working on electrics with 2 supplies. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

happyhippydad

Electrician's Arms
I have little knowledge of PV.

When working on circuits supplied by a domestic CU, is it fine to just have the main switch off in the CU or should you be isolating the PV as well?

The stickers all over the CU's in this example all say to disconnect both supplies.

20190520_110347.jpg 20190520_110340.jpg 20190520_110333.jpg 20190520_110328.jpg

Rob

Control System Engineer
Respected Member
I would be isolating both supplies.

Reactions: DPG

littlespark

Electrician's Arms
Use your tester.

If what you are working on is dead, then good to go.

I have never worked on PV, from what I can see, sometimes the pv power comes in on a regular mcb, so even if mainswitch is off, you can get power on the bus bar.
Other way is it’s on its board, and connects through a Henley block before the DB.

I don’t know if one method is more “right” than the other.

You could always do your work in the middle of the night when there is no pv power being generated. ;)

Pete999

Forum Mentor
I have little knowledge of PV.

When working on circuits supplied by a domestic CU, is it fine to just have the main switch off in the CU or should you be isolating the PV as well?

The stickers all over the CU's in this example all say to disconnect both supplies.

View attachment 49460 View attachment 49461 View attachment 49462 View attachment 49463