Discuss Worst places to work. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

GBDamo

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I'd like to forward pubs.

I have been doing reactive maintenance in pubs for four months now and they are by far the worst.

Forty years of semi-professionals sinking their retirement pots into a pub has led to some of the most creative electrical installation.

Today I was sent to a lighting fault, dead short, where a previous electrician had stated the circuit needed rewiring.

The circuit consisted of five areas, ground floor, fed from a grid switch.

The first fitting in each area was found and dropped. In each case the loop out and subsequent fittings all tested fine by IR, +200MOhms @ 500V accross all conductors however the feeds from the grid switch all showed dead shorts accross all conductors!!

Mmmm, thought I.

Tested the feed from the RCBO to grid switch, all good IR.

Then noticed the clue, a random live out of the COM of one grid switch.

Pulled it, it's N&E out and sure enough all conductors dead shorts, all the rest of the faults cleared and lights back on.

Where's that PL off to? Toured the pub and found four EM lights out in the first floor flat. Dropped the lot to find a loop out of the last, or so I thought, one. Back down stairs under a fire escape was a fifth and yes...

Full of water.

Normally I'd do a tour for this kind of thing but but was thrown a bit of a curve ball by the fault being reported as "pool table, darboard and disco lights tripping fuse"

What a faff but well chuffed to find, replace the light and get it all up and running.

I bet I was a barrel of laughs working their .lol.