Discuss Wrong halogen downlight connections? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Strudel

Hello,

I'm not an electrician and I'd be really grateful if one of you pros could help me out:

I recently moved from a property that I was renting. When I first moved in to this property 4 years ago I noticed that my halogen downlights were failing to work after as short a period as 1 or 2 weeks. I told my landlord about this and he said 'that's just the way it is with downlights' and didn't investigate the problem. I got fed up with the expense of having to replace these downlights continuously and got to the stage of living in semi-darkness.

About 3 years into my tenancy I bumped into my landlord's assistant and told him about the downlights. He told me that they'd had a similar problem with another property and that I probably had the wrong 'connections' (I'm not sure if this is the right word I should be using). An electrician came around and did something to my connections and replaced the halogen bulbs which had 2 pins in them with bulbs that had 2 knobs in them that were twisted in (I believe these are called GU10).

Please would someone tell me what they think was the problem and the implications of this. My landlord has always been very difficult and now that I've left my property I'm preparing myself for him to be unreasonable when it comes to returning my deposit. Will this give me a card up my sleeve if he does cause me any problems?

Thanks for any help and advice.

Sounds like the electrician changed the extra low voltage spot lights you had for low voltage GU10 ones.

The ELV ones are more prone to failing as the lamp, lamp holder or transformer commonly fail. GU10s are better theres no tramsformer and they dont fail as often

There was no wrong with the ELV spots being in so no unfortunately this doesnt give you a card up your sleeve.