Discuss yet another poor installation in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

T

tawraste

hi all,
went round a friend's house today - he gave me a call and asked if i would look at his electrical installation as he thought some things weren't 'quite right'.

i had no intention of doing any work, this is more experience for me as i'm still learning.

first up - tails from the meter to an isolator. great. tails from isolator to distribution board with several inches of insulation removed and replaced with 99p electrical tape !!!!!!! no records or certificates. house only 7 or 8 years old.

straight away i said get a registered guy in here to change those tails and do a periodic inspection.

other things included a spur going from the island in the middle of the kitchen to an under the counter at the side of the room double socket connected with just plain old white cord. the origin of the spur was next to a washing machine - which has leaked in the past... so white cord coming from the double socket (did i mention it was a dry lined box mounted on the surface with massive holes in the sides?) connected to more white cord with a chock block 10mm from the concrete floor. mad thing is that above the spur under the counter is another double socket which would have required less than 18inches of twin and earth !
then the swa going to the pond and fountain not earthed by conductor or sheath and not glanded.....
then single sockets mounted next to doubles in the living room but spurred from side wall mounted lights instead of from the neighbouring double sockets...
then a bit of twin and earth 2.5mm popping out the outside of the house and terminated in a non weatherproof enclosure...(with yes a 1inch hole in the side)