Discuss Young spark after advice in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Ive been working as a sparkys mate since 2014 mainly on commercial new build and recently started doing my own jobs after completing C&G 2365 L2+L3, done my part p, unsure whether to book 17th as 18th comes out soon.

Works decently coming in, main issue im having is not knowing where to route cable i.e customers wanting outdoor security light, must I start lifting floorboards to route a feed off kitchen light or is there another way? I am extremely tempted to put a 5a fused spur next to socket, drill through wall and run up exterior wall to fitting.

Also if a c/u is on the left side at the front of the house and I need to add a circuit to a room on the right side at the back, how do you go about routing?

Right now I've got a customer who has ordered a hot tub (2nd hand), hes sending me power figures in the morning however the previous owner has said he needs a 20a outdoor socket. I am assuming this is a outdoor socket fed off a 20a fused spur or 20a RCD?

Checking cable capacity it being in insulated wall 2.5mm can tolerate 20a. Main question regarding the hot tub is can I add a 20a fused spur to a ring main?

Would appreciate genuine help instead of ar$ey comments

Ive been working as a sparkys mate since 2014 mainly on commercial new build and recently started doing my own jobs after completing C&G 2365 L2+L3, done my part p, unsure whether to book 17th as 18th comes out soon.

Works decently coming in, main issue im having is not knowing where to route cable i.e customers wanting outdoor security light, must I start lifting floorboards to route a feed off kitchen light or is there another way? I am extremely tempted to put a 5a fused spur next to socket, drill through wall and run up exterior wall to fitting.

OK with a FCU off the rfc