Currently reading:
Doesn't make sense!!

Discuss Doesn't make sense!! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

phil94

Hello everyone this is my first time on this forum and I'm looking a bit help!! I'm starting to think I'm a complete idiot!! (Maybe I am??)

A simple apartment block intercom system, has a 12V AC supply. Is it possible, for a DC door strike to operate properly?? I can't see how it could, but need confirmation?

All help appreciated :)

Hello everyone this is my first time on this forum and I'm looking a bit help!! I'm starting to think I'm a complete idiot!! (Maybe I am??)

A simple apartment block intercom system, has a 12V AC supply. Is it possible, for a DC door strike to operate properly?? I can't see how it could, but need confirmation?

All help appreciated :)

Don't worry about it bonny lad ... With those qualifications you'll fit in well here. :)

Welcome to the asylum - it's your round and mine's a Broon. :8:

I'm didn't install the system, but the apartment was broken into so I am responsible to fix it.

The system that has been installed is a Bell 906 Door entry system with Lock Release.

I got the instructions over the Internet there, and they were really helpful:)

But what would really happen if a 12V DC door strike was wired into a 12V AC voltage supply? Would it work as an 12V AC door strike?

Sorry thaught I had explained, yes it will work ok, the reason a dc strike is used on an ac supply is to make the strike buzz aswell as opening the door, its a quick way of telling the caller he can now enter by pushing the door. If a dc power supply were used, the would be no noise just a faint click.

This is a quick wiring diagram of the intercom system I am doing atm, and the problem is that the door strike will not release?? I'm completely baffled?!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    169.8 KB · Views: 203
Phil there should be not connection from AC- 26 to door strike, should be 1 wire from phones to - door strike only.