Search the forum,

Discuss Self Employed Pat Tester in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jeeves

Hi Guys

Just signed up here, basicly looking for advice I am a time served wood machinist but in need of a career change and would really like to work for myself, I have considered pat testing but I dont know where to start, I see all these 2 day courses that claim thats all you need but I feel thats imposible to learn it in 2 days .

can any of you's give me advice on how to get the correct traning that will help me on my way to be a self employed pat tester

Cheers
Jeeves

Setting up a PAT business isn't something I would consider - short of spending 3 years at college the 2 day course (c&g 2377) is the only widely recognised appliance testing course; as a consequence more PAT businesses have sprung up than you can shake a stick at, charging as little as 50p an item, while most here would agree it takes around 5 minutes to properly test an item.
Around £270 for the course
Around £500 for the test gear
Around £200 per year for PL insurance
You might spend an average of around 5p on materials for each test

970÷0.45=2156 appliances to test before you're into profit

2156x5 = 10780 10780÷60=179.6 179.6÷40=4.49.

That's 4½ weeks working flat out 40 hour weeks (excluding travelling time) before you're into any kind of profit, without even considering anything frivolous like buying petrol, advertising, van etc, and assuming you can land enough contracts to give you that much work.

Personally after the first 500 or so appliances I'd be ready to do myself in.

Last edited by a moderator:
He is only stopping him from committing hari-kari
Personably 200 would do it for me…lol

Hey you really know how to give a guy encouragement !!
He said he was after advice, not encouragement.