Discuss Cheeky or not? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

ga.electrical

Hi Guys,

I have had a few quiet weeks since christmas and assumed people were reluctant to spend what they dont have, however just as an enquiry i decided to have a look at recent planning applications submitted within my area and found that a hell of a lot are on there. Do you think it is a good idea to send out some info about the company see if i get a return or even call the applicants direct or do you think this is a cheeky thing to do? Has anyone else used the planning list to get work?
Cheers Gaz

im a trainee, looking forward to my future all the time, where one day i will be self employed,..i think your idea is excellent!!!...if the planning apps are public knowledge i see no harm, although, id start with post, people see phonecalls as intrusive,...send it out, it will cost you a few quid, small investment, personally if it was me that received it through the door, based on how you got the info about any of my upcoming projects, id be impressed...personally.

...love this idea, and i will remember it for when i am self employed!!

The idea does have some merit, but the feedback I get from customers is, "oh, yes I have out the planning application in and I have now been deluged with builders contacting me"
Possibly an electrician may be a change! Just remember that many others will be doing the same thing so choose your contact carefully and appropriate to your strengths. Post is probably better than calls.