Discuss Tax return allowable expenses list 2017/18 in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello experts,

I am actually a self employed electrician working away 10 hours every day and I need a bit of advice from you guy please. I did my tax return on my own last year. I did add couple of things in my expenses list like phone bill( job %), clothes cleaning exp, tools, food and travel. Now its the time to do it again but One of my mate said to me that I can't claim back on food and travel. I would like you guy to advice me on this mater that should I include food and travel in my allowable expenses or not and how much please per day.
Thank you.

You can claim for ALL your travel expenses, if they are related to your work. As for food, if you leave home every morning and return home in the evening, then no, you can’t claim for food, drinks etc, you can only claim for sustenance if your staying away from your permanent address. Basic rule of thumb is that you reclaim any expenses if they are vital to you earning money. So if you take a potential customer out for business lunch to get a contract, then you can reclaim it (within reason though). If wear personalised work clothes/uniform then you can reclaim your yearly cleaning expenses (roughly £56 per annum), plus you can reclaim the initial purchase price of the uniform.