Discuss What size supply? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

scoop

Hi,
I work in the event/exhibition industry and have a question regarding the electrical supply I need for a forthcoming stand at the NEC. Our stand has a large LED screen wall (max consumption 20amps) and a number of ancillary items such as monitors,lights and coffee machine (consumption 8amps).

The LED wall supplier has requested either a 32amp 3 phase supply OR two 13 amp sockets on separate circuits with B class breakers. When I queried the options I was told that because of screen "leakage" these are the only options which will prevent nuisance tripping.

The cost of these supplies at the NEC are outrageous (3 phase 32 amp is £2500 for a 3 day show). If I have 3 separate single phase supplies (2 for the wall and 1 for everything else it is equally expensive). I am therefore looking for any advice. I wondered if a 3 phase 16 amp would suffice (this is £1000 cheaper)?

Look forward to your suggestions

Hi,
I work in the event/exhibition industry and have a question regarding the electrical supply I need for a forthcoming stand at the NEC. Our stand has a large LED screen wall (max consumption 20amps) and a number of ancillary items such as monitors,lights and coffee machine (consumption 8amps).

The LED wall supplier has requested either a 32amp 3 phase supply OR two 13 amp sockets on separate circuits with B class breakers. When I queried the options I was told that because of screen "leakage" these are the only options which will prevent nuisance tripping.