Discuss ABB Contactor(A9) - Help needed. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

treeman

Hi Guys,
I need some advice, have you any experience with 'ABB (A9) Contactors' ??

I'm currently an apprentice electrician and am out of my depth with a ABB Contactor, and thought it best to ask the professionals.
I have no drawings, diagrams or manufacture's wiring manual, having travelled to Colombia(120v)to my partners .

I'm trying to wire a centrifugal pump with an ABB A9 (30-10) 'Contactor' with a thermal overload relay (TA25).
I have two lines (2 X 120V supply) and a Neutral (conductor).
Am I right by writing, that the supply is wired into T1 and T2 ?

I'm trying to establish the manufacture's conductors connection to the coil (unknown)??, that meaning, I have two wires not terminating to the coil correctly, positions unknown.

I also I have a float switch for the water level in a tank, a neutral and supply/ line, so neutral to neutral and the supply to the thermal overload relay ?? Position of connection unknown.

Many thanks in advance, Cheers Terry

ABB A9 Contactor (IV).jpgABB A9 Contactor (III).jpg

What is your area of experience?
What are your qualifications?

In order to taylor our replies we need to know what background you have... eg- if your DIY then I'd be upfront and tell you to leave alone.

Whats the coil voltage?... where have you sourced the contactor from (does the hz match with local 60hz)
Does the float act as the ON/OFF command?
Is the motor single phase 120v or working off 2phases approx 220v?

Answers to each of these questions can alter replies and at present you been very vague with details.

PS ... You popping over to see your GF so how the hell you getting roped into this in a country that sits under a different regulation and voltage generation system.. id be tiptoeing carefully here!

Last edited:
Hi Darkwood,
Many thanks for your reply.
You have quite a few questions above so I hope to answer them as best I can.