Discuss Conductors, Insulators, Semi-Conductors and Doping. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

Kriske

Good morning/afternoon/evening/night forum members.
I'm a student in a Basic Computers Maintenance and Repair class at present and currently doing a project on the above title. In my project right now I'm looking for several things that I just can't seem to find or know how to put together.

In my project I'm thinking of implement sections on
"Purpose of Conductors/Insulators/Semi=Conductors/Doping" "How do they work with each other" "Why do we need them"

My research has been a bit redundant and only yields, "How X/Y works". For example, "A conductor is a substance, body or device that easily conducts heat, electricity, sound or any type of energy." I can not find A conductor works with an insulator by the process of etc nor you can find a conductor in-.

While I know materials of conductors (most metals). I'd like to give examples in regards to electrical areas. While I know it's easy you could find them in say a laptop such as the processor pins or the IC. I want to give more examples or specific examples.

My question
What is the purpose of 1) Conductors 2) Insulators 3) SemiConductors 4)Dopin?g
How do Conductors, Insulators, Semiconductors and Doping work together?
Why do we need Conductors, Insulators, Semiconductors and Doping?
Thank you for reading!

Conductors are used to transmit electrical energy and are designed to do so with minimal losses, so good conductivity is required, as far as practicable; they are not intended to affect a circuit in any way, just connect parts together.

Because conductors can present danger due to the electrical energy transmitted, and to avoid any inadvertent short circuits insulators are used to contain the conductors so that the electrical energy reaches the appropriate points without diversion to inappropriate parts of the circuit.