Discuss In need of some friendly advice! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

boontang

Hi,

I'm new to this, so forgive me if this has been asked a thousand times!

I'm wanting to start a new career as an electrician. Looking back i should of done this years ago, when prehaps it would of been financially easier! But hey-ho i cant dwell on that!
I'm 30 years old and currently work in customer service, were i have been for the past year and a half. Before that i worked as a plumbing(not gas safe/corgi) & drainage technician, where I worked for 6 six years. I was trained in that field by my mother's husband who had his own business.
I've always been pretty hands on and not afraid to get my hands dirty.
I did spend my late teens and early 20's in college and university, so I know I've got the ability to learn.

I've spent hours looking around on the internet trying to find information of where to start, but the truth is, i'm a little lost! What I'm after is someone with experience to say... Your first step should be this course, or this book. My knowledge/experience is very little, but I can change a plug/light fitting/light switch/socket!

Any advice, good or bad would be much appreciated!

Speak to local colleges first. And local firms who might be willing to take on an adult trainee - few and far between to be fair though at the moment.

Don't be tempted to do a Electrical Trainee course and hope it'll all come good. It rarely does.

Dont belive the training centre 50k a year hype ! They use this to sell you there courses

Yeah I'm read some stories! I did make some enquiries, but was put off by their pushyness and wanting £6000+
I'm in no rush, and I've learnt that enjoying your job is more important than just the money. I can honestly say I think I would enjoy being a sparky!

go for a job as an electricians mate then try and get on a proper college course, 1 day or 2 evenings a week .