Discuss Insulation Resistance zero Ohms in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all. As I've said before, I'm not an electrician but an adult learner. I have a second hand Fluke 1653B MFT which is out of calibration but I use a CalCard to see how far out it is and it's not too bad. I've watched a thousand videos on EICRs etc and just want to increase my knowledge - if you want to kick me off this discussion as not being "competent" then fair enough. I will not be offering any electrical services to anyone - this is a hobby of mine.

Question: I carried out an IR test (at 250V) on one of my own ring (final!!) circuits protected by a 32A type B 30mA RCBO. L-E, N-E >200 mega ohms but L-N was zero ohms. There is nothing connected to any of the sockets. I've searched here and elsewhere for some info on this and obviously the possibility of a fault was mentioned. If there is a L-N fault why doesn't the RCD trip under short circuit fault?

L to N is not "zero" ohms, but some low value that shows up as zero because it is at the bottom of the scale. Change to a Continuity measurement, and likely you will see a reading of what is actually connected - e.g. an appliance not disconnected, etc. - e.g. a few tens or hundreds of ohms.

Hi all. As I've said before, I'm not an electrician but an adult learner. I have a second hand Fluke 1653B MFT which is out of calibration but I use a CalCard to see how far out it is and it's not too bad. I've watched a thousand videos on EICRs etc and just want to increase my knowledge - if you want to kick me off this discussion as not being "competent" then fair enough. I will not be offering any electrical services to anyone - this is a hobby of mine.