Search the forum,

Discuss Whats needed? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Daniel Morgan

Hi ok im really confused what qualifications do i need to obtain in order to become JIB certified or NICEIC certified to become a domestic electrician? as their is that many regulations you cant tell which is required as a must and which are to enhance you qualifications.

Im currently 24 and wanting to change careers from retail to an electrician. I have no on site experience only my own work.

Also iv'e narrowed it down to two methods of learning, apprenticeship and work on site with an electrician or learn my way through going to pay courses. Which is usually the best method?

Many Thanks

The best method would be a combination of a college course tied into an apprenticeship, these last about 3yrs and give you the education and skills to work in various areas of the Industry.

There are alot of faster track courses but you need to be aware they may limit your customer base to 'domestic installer' and if you scan through various threads on this you may find this side of the market is getting saturated and this is both limiting available work and driving wages down.

I'm not saying which way to go but do your research first and see if there is plenty of domestic work available in your area if you choose to go for that route of domestic installer, asking local Electricians 'hows business' this may give an indication.

We have members on here who have found they have paid for the short courses and they struggle to get employment from companies or if they are setting up n their own they find a lack of work, again this isn't always the case and we have members who are successful down that route but when you make such a career changing decision then its best to know the local market you intend to work in.

Last edited: