Discuss Hello everyone need some advice in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I am looking at gaining electrical qualifications in order to do installations and self certify ect. My background is plumber/heating for 16 years. Worked for myself for 9 years have a good customer base. I am always subbing out electrical work so figured could get qualifications and do it myself. I have decent knowledge of the work but confused when it comes to the courses to take. If I took part p and 18th edition wirings regulation could I self certify? Have been looking into it online and can't work it out. I am seeing collages saying you need level 3? What's the best route for me

sorry for the long post. If anyone has heating or plumbing problems feel free to ask!!

thanks

Welcome to the forum.

Part P 'qualifications' are something of an oddity as they simply provide knowledge about that part of the building regulations, but not any electrical training. Initially they would have been intended for electricians who needed to bring themselves up to date with building regs, but seem to have lingered as a money making scheme for England and Wales.

18th edition course is again a means for electricians to update knowledge in line with changes to the wiring regulations, but provides no training outside of those changes.

The best way to prove competency would be c&g 2365 or it's EAL equivalent, gain NVQ level 3 and complete AM2 at a minimum as this route would provide evidence of competency to schemes such as NICEIC or NAPIT who allow members to self verify work. There may be ways of speeding up entry to these schemes, but I would advise getting in contact with them and asking what they require as they've tightened up considerably on this of late.